In response to Covid-19, states are in the process of making temporary changes to requirements for completing pre-licensing and continuing education, as well as making extensions for license renewals. As we receive information from each state’s insurance and real estate department, we will update this page to give you insight on what your state is changing to accommodate our nation’s circumstances, as well as what we plan to do to help you complete your courses as smoothly as possible.
Online course with online exam: fill out the proctor information fields with YOUR information (instead of the monitor’s information) and if a paper affirmation is required enter your information as both student and proctor with your signature and return to Cape for processing.
Last updated: July 25, 2021, at 7:00 PM
|New York||November 2, 2020|
DFS hereby eliminates the requirement that a monitor be present when an insurance producer takes any exam at the conclusion of either a continuing education or prelicensing course. This change does not modify the requirement to take an exam at the conclusion of a self-study continuing education course or online prelicensing course. More information can be found here.
Insurance Continuing Education
|Alabama||May 21, 2021||Prelicensing Certificate of Completion; Expiration Date Extended: The Certificate of Completion for any prelicensing course is hereby extended past the stated expiration date on the certificate as follows:|
Stated Expiration date in March of 2020 – extended 120 days
Stated Expiration date in April or May of 2020 – extended 90 days
Stated Expiration date in June of 2020 – extended 60 days
Stated Expiration date in July of 2020 – extended 30 days
For Self-Study CE courses, the Department will waive the examination proctoring requirement through June 30, 2021. More information here.
|Alaska||October 9, 2020||Effective October 9, 2020, all insurance license candidates who are required to take an Alaska insurance license examination will have the option to take a remote online proctored examination for all exam types. More information here.|
|Arizona||June 7, 2021||Effective March 26, 2020, Arizona is waiving the proctor requirements for post-course examinations. This accommodation will be in place until social distancing recommendations are lifted.|
May 26, 2021 – Effective June 7, 2021, Arizona will no longer be accepting provisional licenses (Source: NIPR).
|Arkansas||June 23, 2021||As of June 23, 2021, remote examinations can be scheduled in Arkansas for students seeking certification as insurance producers. More information here.|
|California||August 24, 2020||The California Department of Insurance will not be issuing temporary licenses or waiving the legal requirement for applicants to pass a qualifying examination and to submit fingerprints for a criminal background check. More information here.|
Beginning August 24, 2020, online testing is available. More information here.
|Colorado||December 31, 2020||All insurance producers, insurance agencies, cash-bonding agents, and professional cash-bail agents who were granted, benefitted from, or affected by temporary continuation of license renewal deadlines, associated procedures, including continuing education requirements and licensing fees, must come into compliance with all applicable Colorado insurance laws, including, but not limited to, C.R.S. § 10-2-101, et seq., C.R.S. § 10-23-102, et seq., and Division Regulations 1-2-10, 1-2-4, 7-1-1, 7-1-2, by December 31, 2020.|
Effective December 31, 2020, the proctoring requirements contained in Colorado Insurance Regulation 1-2-4, Section (5)(c)(1)(d) are no longer waived and must be satisfied.
|Connecticut||August 13, 2020||Proctor requirements remain the same, but tools such as Skype, Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and other similar products will be allowed for remote proctoring.|
August 4, 2020 – Effective August 13, 2020, the Connecticut Insurance Department will cease accepting applications for temporary resident producer licenses. More information here.
Will the renewal deadline date be extended due to the COVID-19 pandemic?
No. The renewal payment date for all Property & Casualty Claims Adjuster and MVPD Appraiser licenses will remain due by June 30, 2021. More information here.
|Delaware||June 30, 2020||June 26, 2020 – Effective June 30, 2020, Delaware will no longer be offering temporary licenses.|
|District of Columbia||June 7, 2021||*The District of Columbia has waived the proctor being a disinterested third party and students are now able to use a family member due to the quarantine.*|
November 23, 2020 – For the duration of the coronavirus (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency, the Department of Insurance, Securities and Banking (“Department”) will temporarily postpone all rate increases filed during the Public Health Emergency to provide further relief to policyholders, effective immediately.
*Effective June 7, 2021, all providers offering a self-study course are required to request a proctor of a disinterested 3rd party.*
|Florida||November 10, 2020||Remote online testing is now available as of October 21, 2020.|
Florida will cease accepting applications for temporary licenses at the close of business on November 10, 2020.
|Hawaii||May 18, 2021||Effective May 18, 2021, Insurance Commissioner’s Memorandums: (1) 2020-2LIC regarding License Examinations and License Status; (2) 2020-5LIC regarding License Examination and License Status; and (3) 2020-9A paragraph no. 3 regarding The Application and Effective Dates of Insurance Commissioner Memorandum 2020-5LIC, are rescinded and will no longer be in effect.|
The Insurance Division has approved Pearson Vue to administer Workers’ Compensation Adjuster license exams through their online proctoring process. More information here.
|Idaho||December 16, 2020||A provisional resident producer license is valid for up to six months. Provisional resident producer licenses do not renew automatically at the end of the license period. More information here.|
Remote proctored examinations are available beginning December 16, 2020. More information here.
Will the Illinois Department of Insurance issue or extend temporary licenses?
Currently, the Department issues a 90-day temporary license for applicants enrolled in a training course conducted on behalf of the appointing company.
Yes. Executive Order No. 2021-11 extends Executive Order 2020-09 through June 26, 2021.
What if my license is up for renewal and I can’t complete my CE requirements on time?
For producers who are set to renew during the Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation, please understand that licensing requirements are NOT suspended at this time. Resident producers can still complete all CE requirements online, including the required 3-hour Ethics classroom course which can now be completed by webinar extended through June 26, 2021.
My temporary license is set to expire during the Governors Disaster Proclamation.
All temporary licenses that were set to expire during the Governor’s Disaster Proclamation have been extended through June 26, 2021.
More information here.
|Indiana||March 1, 2021||Beginning September 1, 2020, online proctored exams are available.|
Beginning March 1, 2021, the Indiana Department of Insurance (IDOI) Independent Adjuster examination will be administered by Pearson VUE.
|Iowa||June 30, 2021||November 6, 2020 – The Iowa Insurance Division today announced that insurance producer examinations will be available in an online format through OnVUE online proctoring by PearsonVUE beginning November 12, 2020.|
As of June 9, 2021, CE requirements can be met by completing self-study courses or classroom equivalent webinars. This applies to all required 36 credits.
As of June 30, 2021, Iowa is reverting back to a disinterested third-party proctoring requirement.
|Kansas||December 15, 2020||November 13, 2020 – The Pearson Vue Professional Centers in Colorado, Iowa, Nebraska, Missouri and Oklahoma will also be providing the Kansas Insurance Producer Exams. Please check Pearson Vue for availability and scheduling.|
December 9, 2020 – Online examination will be available beginning December 15, 2020. More information here.
|Kentucky||July 31, 2020||Effective July 31, 2020, Kentucky will no longer issue temporary licenses.|
November 20, 2020 – Information was released regarding testing site closures. More information here.
|Maine||February 17, 2021||Proctor requirements remain the same, but tools such as Skype, Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and other similar products will be allowed for remote proctoring.|
January 15, 2021 – Effective February 1, 2021, Maine is no longer accepting temporary license applications. Online delivery of examination is expected in the next 45 days. More information here.
February 17, 2021 – Maine is offering online examinations through Pearson VUE. More information here.
|Maryland||June 30, 2021||All licenses, permits, registrations, and other authorizations issued by the State of Maryland are hereby extended to the 30th day after the date by which the state of emergency is terminated. More information here.|
May 1, 2020 – PSI test centers are reopening. More information here.
September 25, 2020 – Beginning October 1, 2020, Maryland will offer online remote testing. More information here.
As of June 30, 2021, Maryland is no longer automatically extending the deadline for licensing renewals. More information here.
|Massachusetts||October 7, 2020||All individual insurance licenses “in good standing” as of the date of the Emergency Declaration that expire during the state of emergency are extended and shall remain valid for a period of 90 days following the termination of the state of emergency.|
The Division is also waiving the proctor requirement for all approved online continuing education courses. More information here.
April 9, 2020 – The Continuing Education Attestation of Personal Responsibility Form has been created for students to sign to attest they have not received outside assistance while completing an online course exam.
April 29, 2020 – Temporary resident producer licenses are now available. Licenses expire 90 days after the state of emergency is lifted or 180 days from the date of issue. Licenses can be converted. More information here.
October 7, 2020 – Extends deadline for license renewals and continuing education deadlines until December 31, 2020. Continues to allow for online proctored exams. More information here.
|Michigan||October 22, 2020||Michigan will allow CE Providers to accept self-attestation of the completion of CE final exams for online CE courses. More information here.|
October 16, 2020 – Effective October 22, 2020, temporary licenses will no longer be issued.
|Minnesota||April 9, 2021||May 4, 2020 – The Minnesota Department of Commerce has changed the technology surcharge for all insurance producer license applications. It will be reduced from $30 to $25, effective May 1, 2020. This will affect all license types for applications, renewals, and reinstatements.|
March 10, 2021 – Online licensing examinations are available. More information here.
April 9, 2021 – Minnesota is no longer accepting temporary license applications.
|Mississippi||April 7, 2020||April 7, 2020 – Allows initial applicants who have met all pre-licensing requirements but have been unable to take an exam to receive a temporary license. Temporary licenses are good for 180 days during which time the applicant shall take the licensing exam. More information here.|
|Missouri||November 17, 2020||June 15, 2020 – Effective June 16, 2020, Missouri will cease taking applications for temporary resident producer licenses. More information here.|
November 12, 2020 – Effective November 17, 2020, online examinations will be available.
|Nebraska||July 1, 2021||The requirement to have an approved monitor present when taking the course final exam for continuing education has been waived.|
April 17, 2020 – Nebraska Insurance has the option for candidates to take remotely proctored exams called ProProctor through Prometric. More information here.
May 1, 2020 – Effective May 1, 2020, some testing centers will be reopened. Nebraska will no longer be issuing temporary insurance licenses. More information here.
As of July 1, 2021, Nebraska is no longer waiving proctor requirements for continuing education self-study online courses. More information here.
|Nevada||April 1, 2020||The Nevada Division on Insurance is waiving the exam proctoring requirement for self-study continuing education classes only; however, the licensee is still required to take the exam at the end of the course. More information here.|
|New Hampshire||June 9, 2020||June 16, 2020 – Remote online testing is now available. More information here.|
|New Jersey||January 31, 2021||August 10, 2020 – The temporary suspension for a proctor to be present has been extended until the state of emergency is over. More information here.|
September 11, 2020 – Beginning September 15, 2020, New Jersey is offering remote testing. More information here.
January 21, 2021 – Effective January 31, 2021, New Jersey will no longer accept applications for temporary licenses. More information here.
|New York||November 2, 2020||Self-Study Cape School students (online or textbook) taking an exam should insert the proctor number NYMO-507718 in the Monitor/Proctor Approval # field. Students with a textbook exam packet, please disregard the line instructing to submit a copy of the NYDFS Monitor Approval document.|
DFS hereby eliminates the requirement that a monitor be present when an insurance producer takes any exam at the conclusion of either a continuing education or prelicensing course. This change does not modify the requirement to take an exam at the conclusion of a self-study continuing education course or online prelicensing course. More information here.
|North Carolina||April 17, 2020||April 17, 2020 – Temporary resident producer licenses are now available. More information here.|
December 15, 2020 – The current COVID-19 accommodations are extended through March 31, 2021. All NC licensees whose CE compliance period ended in July, August, September, October and November 2020 (based on birth date) have until December 31, 2020 to meet the state mandated CE requirements. If the CE requirements are not met by December 31, 2020, the license will be expired.
All NC licensees with a CE compliance period ending on December 31, 2020 and later (based on birth date), are required to meet their continuing education requirements by their normal CE compliance end date. Those that do not satisfy their requirements will be expired based on current North Carolina regulations.
|North Dakota||April 17, 2020||April 17, 2020 – North Dakota Insurance has the option for candidates to take remotely proctored exams called ProProctor through Prometric. More information here.|
|Ohio||March 31, 2020||Proctor requirements remain the same, but tools such as Skype, Microsoft Teams, Zoom, and other similar products will be allowed for remote proctoring.|
March 31, 2020 – Licenses that expire during the state of emergency remain valid and may be renewed until no later than 90 days after the emergency ends or December 1, 2020, whatever comes first. More information here.
April 15, 2020 – Allows for temporary resident producers effective and continuing through the stay at home order. Apply through NIPR.com. Must have a sponsoring insurer and license will not be valid for more than 180 days. Can be converted to a resident license. More information here.
|Oklahoma||June 25, 2020||All occupational licenses issued by any agency, board, or commission of the State of Oklahoma will be extended by 14 days after the date by which the state of emergency is terminated. More information can be found here and here.|
June 1, 2020 – All Oklahoma testing centers are opening at 100% capacity. More information here.
June 18, 2020 – Effective June 25, 2020, the OID will no longer accept temporary license applications. All Temporary Producer and Apprentice Adjuster licenses shall expire on September 1, 2020. More information here.
|Oregon||July 15, 2020||The Oregon Department of Insurance has announced that they will be using PSI’s remote testing services. Beginning July 15, 2020, insurance exams will be available online for insurance license applicants. More information here.|
|Pennsylvania||May 14, 2021||April 22, 2020 – Temporary resident producer licenses are now available. The license is valid 180 days from the date of issuance. More information here.|
June 15, 2020 – Remote online testing for insurance license exams is available starting July 1, 2020. More information here.
June 26, 2020 – Between June 26 and June 30, 2020, candidates for licensure in Pennsylvania will be unable to schedule any insurance exams while PSI moves to a new platform to begin offering remotely proctored exams on July 1, 2020.
February 27, 2021 – Effective May 14, 2021, renewal and continuing education extensions will be discontinued. This information was received from NIPR.com and a link was not available at the time of posting.
|South Carolina||September 15, 2020||The Department is waiving any in-person proctoring requirements for continuing education until the current State of Emergency is lifted by the Governor and third-party vendors are permitted to resume operations. |
September 1, 2020 – Remote online testing is now available.
September 10, 2020 – Effective September 15, 2020, South Carolina will no longer issue temporary licenses due solely to COVID. More information here.
|South Dakota||February 19, 2021||September 10, 2020 – Effective September 11, 2020, South Dakota will no longer accept temporary resident license applications. More information here.|
February 19, 2021 – Online examinations are now available on Pearson Vue’s platform (OnVUE). More information here.
|Tennessee||May 21, 2021||Temporary resident licenses are now available. All temporary licenses will expire in 180 days and can be converted to a regular license. More information here.|
May 20, 2021 – Beginning May 21, 2021, online examinations are available (Source: NIPR).
|Texas||September 20, 2021||Texas will return to normal processing of temporary licenses beginning August 15, 2020.|
June 29, 2021 – Online testing is now available. More information here.
July 22, 2021 – Governor Greg Abbott has rescinded suspensions of insurance-related statutes and rules issued in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, effective September 20, 2021. This bulletin outlines actions the Texas Department of Insurance is taking to return to the ordinary course of business.
|Utah||June 17, 2020||Temporary resident producer licenses are now available. The license is valid 180 days from the date of issuance. More information here.|
June 17, 2020 – Remote online testing is now available. More information here.
|Vermont||April 17, 2020||The Continuing Education Attestation of Personal Responsibility Form has been created for students to sign to attest they have not received outside assistance while completing an online course exam.|
April 17, 2020 – Vermont Insurance has the option for candidates to take remotely proctored exams called ProProctor through Prometric. More information here.
|Virginia||June 1, 2020||May 4, 2020 – Beginning June 1, 2020, an applicant for an insurance license from the Virginia State Corporation Commission will register to take insurance licensing exams through Prometric. Registration for exams with Prometric will open April 30, 2020. Can be taken either online with ProProctor or at Prometric Test Centers throughout Virginia. Pearson VUE will no longer administer licensing exams after May 31, 2020.|
May 20, 2020 – Effective June 1, 2020, online examinations are available. More information here.
|West Virginia||March 17, 2020||The Commissioner will issue a temporary producer license to applicants for a producer license, on a case-by-case basis, without requiring testing or fingerprinting, where it is determined that applicants are unable to complete the requisite testing or obtain fingerprinting due to third-party vendor operations suspensions or closures. Temporary licenses will be issued for a period of up to 180 days and will be subject to being sooner rescinded depending upon the duration of the current insurance emergency. More information here.|
Testing centers have reopened. More information here.
|Wisconsin||July 1, 2020||The requirement to have an approved monitor present when taking the course final exam for continuing education has been waived.|
The Continuing Education Attestation of Personal Responsibility Form has been created for students to sign to attest they have not received outside assistance while completing an online course exam. The form with our information here.
June 1, 2020 – Effective July 1, 2020, PSI will be the new education vendor for the state. More information here.
Additional information regarding the remote testing process can be found here.
|Wyoming||March 2, 2021||The Commissioner will consider waiving license late/reinstatement fees for licensees who are directly affected by COVID-19 (those who test positive or are a primary caregiver of someone who tests positive) and are unable to renew their insurance license timely. More information here.|
February 23, 2021 – Online examinations will be available on Pearson’s Vue platform (OnVUE) beginning March 2, 2021. More information here.
|New York||March 27, 2020||Effective March 27, 2020, pursuant to Executive Order 202.11, any license issued by the Division of Licensing Services or New York State Athletic Commission, that expires after that date, shall remain in effect until May 27, 2021. Further, the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council, has advised that appraisers within New York have been granted a 90-day deferment for meeting continuing education requirements. Any license holder that is eligible to renew and does not need the extension is encouraged to do so; all other license holders may rely on the above extensions. IF YOU ARE HAVING DIFFICULTY FINDING AN AVAILABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE, PLEASE CONTACT THE DEPARTMENT AT (518) 474-4429. ALL REQUIRED CONTINUING EDUCATION MUST BE COMPLETED ON OR BEFORE May 27, 2021. More information here.|
Per the state –
Students who cannot get their CE by their deadline should:
1. Renew their license on the state site BEFORE their deadline: https://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/eaccessny.html
a. Mark the box that they did NOT complete their CE
b. Pay their renewal fee
c. Submit their renewal
2. Request a 6 month extension by emailing: firstname.lastname@example.org
a. This email should include: Name, License #, expiration date, when they plan on taking the CE and reason for requesting the extension
Note: It may take about a week for a response since there are many requests coming in
|Pennsylvania||August 30, 2020||Under the State Real Estate Commission, renewal deadlines for all license types will be extended from May 31, 2020, to Aug. 29, 2020. The CE renewal cycle has also been extended to August 29, 2020. You must complete 14 hours of CE, including the required mandatory topics if applicable, between June 1, 2018, and August 29, 2020, in order to meet the requirements. The next CE cycle will begin August 30, 2020, and extend to May 31, 2022. More information here.|